Home
  • Register

About AntipodeanSF

The AntipodeanSF Radio Show

In The Next Issue...

Coming In Issue 196

Money Back Guarantee
by Zeb Carter

The Space Between
by Kevin J. Phyland

Hot Water
by DW Walker

Slippery Worlds
by PS Cottier

Deadbeat
by Stephen L. Thompson

Thek
by Harris Tobias

Scavenger Of The Dead Hand
by David Adès

The Grief Counsellors
By David Scholes

The Three Wise Fools
Wes Parish

Fifty Worders

Time & Time Again

By Ed Errington

"The government threatened me with their Time Modulator. It condemns people to re-live one single moment over and over again. I'm not afraid. The government threatened me with their Time Modulator. It condemns people to re-live one single moment over and over again. I'm not afraid. The government threatened me... "

aus25grn

Newsflashes...

  • SQ Mag 16 Published

    sqmag-16-100SQ Mag's latest issue, #16 is now available online for your enjoyment.

    The publishers encourage a donation if you like the fiction therein.

    Six original pieces by US and Australian authors, including Ken Liu's 'Running Shoes'.

    More here at sqmag.com

    aus25grn

     
  • 2014 Baen Fantasy Awards

    Winners of the first annual Baen Fantasy Adventure Awards were announced August 16, 2014, at Gen Con in Indianapolis IN.

    Grand Prize:
    "The Golden Knight", K.D. Julicher

    First Runnerup:
    "Phoenix for the Amateur Chef", Scott Huggins

    Second Runnerup:
    "The Girl with No Name", Travis Heermann

    The contest focused on adventure fantasy short stories of 8,000 words or fewer. Baen editors judged the entries, with final entries also judged by Larry Correia. The grand prize included publication as a featured story on the Baen website, an engraved award, and an assortment of Baen books.

    - See more here

     
  • 2014 Hugo Awards

    The 72nd World Science Fiction Convention, Loncon 3, has announced the 2014 Hugo Award winners. 3587 valid ballots were received and counted in the final ballot.

    BEST NOVEL

    Ancillary Justice, by Ann Leckie (Orbit US / Orbit UK)

    BEST NOVELLA

    "Equoid" by Charles Stross (Tor.com, 09-2013)

    BEST NOVELETTE

    "The Lady Astronaut of Mars" by Mary Robinette Kowal (maryrobinettekowal.com /
    Tor.com, 09-2013)

    BEST SHORT STORY

    "The Water That Falls on You from Nowhere" by John Chu (Tor.com, 02-2013)

    Read more...  

September 2014

Speculative Fiction
Downside-Up!
ISSN 1442-0686

Online Since Feb 1998

Face it triangularly

S5 Box

Login Form

S5 Register

SF Quote

...today we live in a society in which spurious realities are manufactured by the media, by governments, by big corporations, by religious groups, political groups...So I ask, in my writing, What is real? Because unceasingly we are bombarded with pseudo-realities manufactured by very sophisticated people using very sophisticated electronic mechanisms...it is an astonishing power: that of creating whole universes, universes of the mind. I ought to know. I do the same thing.

Philip K. Dick

Featured Books

  • reach-for-infinity-covReach For Infinity

    Edited by Jonathan Strahan

    Hard SF Anthology

    Publisher: Solaris Books

    HUMANITY AMONG THE STARS

    What happens when we reach out into the vastness of space? What hope for us amongst the stars?
    Multi-award winning editor Jonathan Strahan brings us fourteen new tales of the future, from some of the finest science fiction writers in the field.
    The fourteen startling stories in this anthology feature the work of Greg Egan, Aliette de Bodard, Ian McDonald, Karl Schroeder, Pat Cadigan, Karen Lord, Ellen Klages, Adam Roberts, Linda Nagata, Hannu Rajaniemi, Kathleen Ann Goonan, Ken MacLeod, Alastair Reynolds and Peter Watts.

     

     
  • lethal-sky-covLethal Sky

    By Greg Barron

    Publisher: Harper Collins

    Action, explosions, adventure, terrorist plots and conspiracies combine for a compelling novel in the vein of Clancy, MacLean and Ludlum. A ship carrying the most deadly cargo in human history is steaming towards the world's great cities ... Intelligence agent Marika Hartmann must make a life and death decision in the skies over Sydney. Her colleague PJ Johnson is leading an unyielding team of Special Forces soldiers against a terrifying new weapon of war, now in the hands of the enemy.

    Read more...  
  • falcon-throne-covThe Falcon Throne

    Karen Miller

    Published by Hachette

    The start of a major new epic fantasy series from the internationally bestselling Australian author of THE INNOCENT MAGE.
    When kingdoms clash, every crown will be tarnished by the bloody price of ambition. In a divided kingdom, some will do anything to seize the crown. A BASTARD LORD, rising up against his tyrant cousin, sheds more blood than he bargained for. A ROYAL CHILD, believed dead, sets his eyes on regaining his father's stolen throne. A DUKE'S WIDOW, defending her daughter, defies the ambitious lord who would control them both. AND TWO BROTHERS, divided by ambition, will learn the true meaning of treachery. All of this will come to pass, and nothing will remain as it once was. Royal houses will fall, empires will be reborn,and those who seek the Falcon Throne will pay for it in blood. A major new fantasy epic begins.

     

Get Dimension 6

D6sidebar

Get Dimension 6 Speculative Fiction

From Coeur De Lion Publishing

Here at AntiSF
Download D6 Now!

"Trust me, you want this free speculative fiction e-zine."
(Rob Hood)